Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
The-Rat
Cadet
Cadet

Introductions and suggestions on training

Jump to solution

Well I wanted to start out by introducing myself and also talk about training options.  This is what lead me, and I suspect many of us to this community in the first place. 

I have been working in IT since I got started my senior year of high school back in late 90's.  I never had much of a mentor, and skipped the route of going to college and went straight into the work force by working at a local mom and pop computer shop.  From those days even, I have been enamored with Linux but it's only been in the past couple years that I've taken that from a slight curiosity to planning my career around it.  Fast forward 15+ years and I have been working at a prominent university for over 11 years and although my full time position is end user facing tech support, I have been working as a junior Linux server admin in a shadowing capacity for a couple years.  Soon there are likely to be a couple position open for full time work as an administrator and I want to make myself ready for one of them.  So, here I am!