cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
AWP
Cadet
Cadet

I am a new Linux learner - any advice for preparing for the Red Hat System Administration I course?

Hello all,

I'm a rookie in the linux world, trying to get my feet wet out of USA California. Going for my Red Hat System Administration I.  Any advise for someone just getting started?

AWP
6 Replies
Jayadev
Flight Engineer Flight Engineer
Flight Engineer

@AWP 

Hello and Welcome to  Red Hat Learning Community.  You have taken the right step by enrolling into the community at the begining of your learning. You may post your questions here and get them answered from other community members. 

The best way to start learning linux is to take up RH124 course. This is a basic course that introduces you to Linux in general and RHEL in perticular. You may continue your learning by taking up RH134 which introduces to system adminisitration tasks. After the completion of these courses you will be ready to configure and build services on RHEL. You may take you RH254 which helps you perform these tasks.

Thanks,

Jayadev

Tracy_Baker
Starfighter Starfighter
Starfighter

@Jayadev wrote:

@AWP 

The best way to start learning linux is to take up RH124 course. This is a basic course that introduces you to Linux in general and RHEL in perticular. You may continue your learning by taking up RH134 which introduces to system adminisitration tasks. After the completion of these courses you will be ready to configure and build services on RHEL. You may take you RH254 which helps you perform these tasks.

This is slightly misleading. RH124 (RH system administration I) and RH134 (system administration II) are geared towards the RHCSA (EX200) exam.

RH254 does not "help you perform these tasks." RH254 is RH system administration III, which is geared towards the RHCE (EX300) exam.

While these are not complete absolutes, RH124 and RH134 are more client-side oriented and RH254 is server-side.