Available for Red Hat Academy: Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8 based curriculum

Flight Engineer
Flight Engineer

We are excited to announce that the Red Hat® training course curriculum based on the release of Red Hat Enterprise Linux® 8 is now available for academies to access within the Red Hat Gilmore portal.

This new curriculum release reflects an industry shift to emerging technologies. The IT industry is evolving, and the focus of digital transformation has shifted to hybrid cloud implementations. With this technology shift, automation has also become an increasingly important skill for Linux system administrators. 

According to Dice.com: “Linux is back on top as the most in-demand open source skill category, making it required knowledge for most entry-level open source careers.” That is why we are striving to make these curriculum updates in an effort to best enable our learners to be competitive in today’s rapidly evolving technology landscape.

Great news! Red Hat Academy partners have a unique opportunity to be the first to offer and access this content. 

What’s changing?

Updated versions of these courses and exams are available on RHEL8:

*This course is retiring in a year and the new version of the course based on RHEL8, Red Hat System Administration III: Linux Automation (RH294) will replace RH254.

Red Hat Certification credential changes

Becoming a Red Hat Certified System Administrator (RHCSA):

Students can choose to complete two different learning paths in order to achieve the Red Hat Certified System Administrator (RHCSA) credential. 

Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7 learning path*
*Available for 1 year (plan to retire RHEL 7 courses and exam on June 2020)

Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8 learning path
Available today and is the learning path recommendation in order to achieve the RHEL 8 based RHCSA credential.

Either choice will allow a student to achieve the RHCSA credential and with a passing exam grade they will hold that credential for 3-years.

Becoming a Red Hat Certified Engineer (RHCE):

With the release of Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8, we are offering a new course and a new certification exam to prepare students for obtaining the Red Hat Certified Engineer credential:

Red Hat System Administration III: Linux Automation (RH294)

This course is designed for Linux system administrators and developers who need to automate provisioning, configuration, application deployment, and orchestration. You will learn how to install and configure Ansible on a management workstation and

Red Hat Certified Engineer exam (EX294) 

Currently, an RHCE is a Red Hat Certified System Administrator (RHCSA) who possesses additional skills, knowledge and abilities required in data center services. In the updated program, we are shifting the focus to automation of Linux system administration tasks using Red Hat Ansible Automation® and will be changing the requirements for achieving an RHCE credential. 

The exam will focus on the automation of Linux system administration tasks using Red Hat Ansible Automation and shell scripting. Red Hat Certified System Administrators (RHCSAs) whose status is current and who pass this new exam will become RHCEs. 

What’s not changing?

One thing that we want to assure you is that this is not a complete redesign of the Red Hat Certified Engineer (RHCE)program. RHCE credentials will still be earned by first passing the Red Hat Certified System Administrator exam (EX200) and then passing the RHCE exam (EX300 or EX294) – while still holding a current RHCSA credential. 

In addition, the Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7 based RHCE exam (EX300) will remain available for one year after the new exam is released. This will allow people to continue and complete their Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7 certification journey if they prefer.

What are the differences in the new versus the old learning paths? 

We’ve provided an in-depth look at the updated learnings paths here.

Transitioning to the Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8 curriculum

We strongly suggest that all Red Hat Academy partners start work now on the migration plan to move from the Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7 curriculum to the Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8 curriculum.

Key steps to consider:

  1. Build out a migration plan with your school administration
  2. Get trained on the RHEL8 based curriculum – contact your Red Hat representative to get access to the video classroom courses.
  3. Access all courseware and lab materials through the Red Hat Gilmore Portal
  4. Have questions? Check out our RHEL8 FAQ document.

Red Hat is dedicated to making this transition process as streamlined as possible for all partnered academies. Contact us for further assistance or help on how to get started. To learn more, please access the RHEL8 curriculum FAQ document.


*See the original post on the Red Hat Services Speak blog here.

2 responses