cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I automatically rebuild an openshift project from scratch?

I am just getting started with openshift so please forgive me if this is a silly question.

When building an application hosted on openshift that has multiple containers, complex routing, secrets etc. How do you version control this configuration?

Ideally I would like to be able to automatically redeploy my full project on a clean cluster in one fell swoop. How do people do this and can anyone link to an example?

Thanks.

Labels (1)
2 Replies
jordisola
Flight Engineer
Flight Engineer

Hi

There are many techniques to reach your objective.

In my opinion and experience, one of the most successful (and trendy) approaches is GitOps. GitOps consist on "linking" your development workflow with the deployment workflow, so any changes on a branch of your SVC drives to updates in your application.

Here you have an initial example, but there are many in the wild.

I also recommend this article from Alexis Richardson as very clarifying.

You can use several GitOps tools (ArgoCD, Tekton, Jenkins, Actions...) depending on your situation, but the approach is mostly the same: Infrastructure-as-code plus some complementing processes (Reconciller).

You don't actually need to deep dive into GitOps from the very beginning. 

I would recommend making baby steps: first define the state of your application (Resources, Configuration, Secrets...) as files in your SVC. Once you are comfortable with that, go for a process that "deploys" that state automatically. Depending on your situation, you can inject this process directly in your development workflow (i.e. with git hooks), or create a separated process and integrate later.