Highlighted
Cadet
Cadet

oc new-app --docker-image vs oc create deployment image

Jump to solution

So I am studying the ex280, and in the material most of the time they use oc new-app --docker-image quay_url except in one exercise they used following:

Create a new application named hello using the container located at quay.io/redhattraining/hello-world-nginx:v1.0

oc create deployment hello --image quay.io/redhattraining/hello-world-nginx:v1.0

so the concern here, how to know when to use the oc create deployment rather than oc new-app? Note I tried the command "oc new-app --name  hello --docker-image quay.io/redhattraining/hello-world-nginx:v1.0" but it didnt work.

Labels (3)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Flight Engineer
Flight Engineer

Re: oc new-app --docker-image vs oc create deployment image

Jump to solution

Hi TheHero

I completely agree, that sentence may be misleading.

Just adding one note: the term "application" in OpenShift (and in Kubernetes in general) is somehow overloaded.

When talking about resources, an "application" is just a bunch of resources with the same value for the "app" label. In other contexts, "application" refers to the set of program components deployed with a common purpose. 

But, again, I agree with you that the sentence can be improved.

KR

Jordi Sola 

View solution in original post

3 Replies
Highlighted
Flight Engineer
Flight Engineer

Jump to solution

Hi TheHero!

The main difference between using "oc new-app" and "oc create deployment" is the number of resources created.

"oc create deployment" creates a "DeploymentConfiguration" resource, getting the image from the registry (quay.io in this case) and deploying as needed (i.e. one replica by default).