lauren
Flight Engineer
Flight Engineer
  • 19.1K Views

Red Hat Academy Welcomes you to the RHLC!

Welcome to the Red Hat Learning Community! As a Red Hat Academy community within the Red Hat Learning Community, let's get to know more about one another. Reply to this post with details about yourself, what school you are with, what RHA courses you are teaching/plan to teach, any skills you would like to develop, and a fun fact to share with your fellow RHLC and RHA community members! 

Labels (3)
63 Replies

Hi all. My name is Petersen Gross and I am an Assistant Professor at Leeward Community College in Hawaii. Several years ago I redeveloped our Operating Systems course to focus on Linux. We currently are not offering any of the RHA courses as I would need to sit down and redevelop the course again. It currently is more geared towards the Linux+ certification. I have not been teaching the course either due to our security programing becoming more popular, so I had to shift to teaching those courses. Eventually it'd be nice to update the course and incorporate some RHA skills within it. I've been using Linux for over 20 years and the first distro I used was Slackware with 2.2.17 as the kernel version. It is crazy to see how Linux has changed over the years!

0 Kudos
MarkS
Flight Engineer
Flight Engineer

Hello Group,

My name is Mark Smith and I teach at Oak Hills High School in Hesperia, CA--a smallish "suburb" of San Bernardino/Los Angeles located in the High Desert of Southern California. I was tasked with starting an IT pathway for our district and left teaching English, history, and video productions after 13 years to do this. It might seem an odd fit, but my Master's is in Instructional Technology and I've been messing around with computers since my Commodore 64 in the mid 80's. I have also owned a side business doing IT work and website design/hosting (Linux of course) since 1998.